General Scientific Meeting 2016 of the Belgian Physical Society




Welcome to the General Scientific Meeting 2016 of the Belgian Physical Society, which is hosted by the UGent. This conference brings together physicists in Belgium of different sectors and different scientific subdisciplines. A diverse program is offered including plenary talks, a young scientist oral presentation competition, and a best poster competition. Parallel sessions and poster sessions will be organized on:

  • Astrophysics, Geophysics & Plasma Physics
  • Atoms, Molecules, Optics & Photonics
  • Biophysics, Medical , Statistical & Mathematical Physics
  • Condensed Matter & Nanophysics
  • Fundamental Interactions, Particle & Nuclear Physics
  • Physics and Education

Confirmed plenary speakers:

  • Prof. Bernard Bigot / Prof. Jean Jacquinot (ITER)
  • Prof. Sergio Bertolucci (CERN)

Organizing / Scientific Committee:

  • Maarten Baes, UGent
  • Wim Cosyn, UGent
  • Jan Danckaert, VUB
  • Mieke De Cock, KULeuven
  • Gilles De Lentdecker, ULB (Vice-President BPS)
  • Christophe Detavernier, UGent
  • Jozef Ongena, RMA (President BPS)
  • Linda Schepens, UGent (Secretary)
  • Michael Tytgat, UGent (Chair)
  • Xavier Urbain, UCLouvain
  • Michael Wübbenhorst, KULeuven

Important dates:

  • April 10th: deadline for young speaker and poster contest applications
  • April 17th: closing of call for abstracts
  • April 24th: deadline for early registration
  • May 15th: registration closing date
  • May 18th: conference date

We would like to acknowledge the following sponsors of our event:

Ghent University